Cooke claims maiden series win

Cooke claims maiden series win

Junior triathlete Keegan Cooke claimed his second win from 3 starts in the 2015 About IT Triathlon Summer Series on Sunday morning to secure the 2015 Series title. Cooke just needs to complete the finale next Saturday at Port St Francis to win his maiden Series title.

The 3rd round of the About IT Triathlon Summer Series saw each of the legs broken into two laps to make the racing more exciting for both participant and spectators. The sea was the calmest it’s been in ages to ensure the easiest of swims whilst the cycle leg saw participants racing through the University campus. Merrick Fairall got off to a flying start and lead the cycle through most of the first lap before coming to the Marine Drive gate which wasn’t opened in time for the race. Organisers quickly altered the course to minimise inconvenience to the participants but not soon enough for Fairall’s race to be compromised. Officials decided to deduct 2 minutes from his time to compensate which resulted in him placing 3rd overall behind Addo’s Louis De Villiers.

In the ladies race it was Liza Kingston who picked up her 3rd win of the Series and like Cooke she just has to finish round 4 to claim her 9th consecutive Series title. Antonella Saporta finished 2nd with Amore Strauss in 3rd place. In the team category it was the Olivier family from Pretoria, representing naming sponsors About IT that claimed the win.

The final round of the 2015 Series takes place at Port St Francis on Saturday 26th December starting at 8.30am. See www.TriSummerSeries for online registration, route maps and necessary information.

About IT Triathlon Summer Series
Round 3 – Sunday 20th December

1 Keegan Cooke (1:06:38); 2 Louis De Villiers (1:07:10); 3 Merrick Fairall (1:07:24); 4 Gawie Henning (1:08:09); 5 Jason Reed (1:08:51); 6 Graeme Renard (1:11:08); 7 Aidan Baker (1:11:16); 8 Shane Darcy (1:11:36); 9 Jared Jordan (1:11:39); 10 Rhoan Abbott (1:11:43); 11 Mark Bosch (1:11:56); 12 Bradley Reen (1:12:20); 13 Ant Daniels (1:12:24); 14 Justin Fraenkel (1:12:40); 15 Shavandre Coleman (1:13:28); 16 Johan Heath (1:16:00); 17 Louis Dupper (1:16:46); 18 Robert Green (1:16:56); 19 Jeff Stubbings (1:17:43); 20 Jaco van Tonder (1:18:17);

1 Liza Kingston (1:15:47); 2 Antonelle Saporta (1:18:24); 3 Amore Strauss (1:21:46); 4 Kelli Thornton (1:25:33); 5 Helen Kernohan (1:29:47); 6 Landice Steyn (1:30:34); 7 Lindsay Steele (1:30:38); 8 Idelette Olivier (1:31:32); 9 Rosa Bester (1:33:03); 10 Carey Pohl (1:33:38); 11 Heather Phillipps (1:34:47); 12 Charlene Marshall (1:36:04); 13 Briggetta Mey (1:38:59); 14 Toinette Hoffmann (1:40:02); 15 Robyn Cherrington (1:40:51); 16 Debbi Hudson (1:41:14); 17 Jayne Claire Burden (1:42:29); 18 Christili Muller (1:43:15); 19 Lisa Watkins-Baker (1:45:29); 20 Carrie Brand (1:45:48);

Related Posts

92nd Spar River Mile Early bird incentives for the upcoming SPAR River Mile will be closing at the end of this month ahead of Africa's oldest open water swimming spectacle...
Season XI record attendance A packed attendance for round 6 of the aQuellé Ocean Racing Series - Season XI welcomed in the first race of the new year with 533 entries further boo...
Venter signals River Mile warning 16 year old Pearson High School scholar, Ian Venter, has shown that he has the form to win next month’s historic SPAR River Mile, a title cherished by...